Johannesburg city-owned heritage properties

1. Heritage sites

1.1. The Old Fort prison complex*
Constitution Hill site bounded by Sam Hancock Street, Kotze Street and Hospital Hill Extension

1.2. George Harrison Park*
Main Reef Road, Langlaagte

1.3. Melville Koppies Nature Reserve*
Judith Road, Melville

1.4. Rissik Street Post Office*
40 Rissik Street. Stand numbers 354, 353, 355/1, 355re, 356, 347, 346, 348 (previously 532-535, 633-635)

1.5. The Wilds*
Houghton Estate

1.6. Salisbury House*
218-220 Marshall Street, Jeppestown

1.7. Johannesburg Art Gallery*
King George Street, Joubert Park

1.8. Newtown Compound and Workers' Cottages*
Newtown Cultural Precinct, Jeppe Street

1.9. Enoch Sontonga Memorial Park
Braamfontein Cemetery

1.10. Confidence Reef*
Mine shafts in Kloofendal Nature Reserve, Roodepoort

1.11. Old Jail and Prison Warder's House, Florida*
Seventh Avenue, Roodepoort

1.12. Hector Pieterson Memorial Museum
8287 Khumalo Street, Orlando West, Soweto

1.13. Hindu Crematorium*
Brixton Cemetery, off Krause Street

1.14. Walter Sisulu Square of Dedication
Kliptown site bounded to the north by the Pimville Dhlamini Link Road, to the west by the railway line, Union Road Extension to the south, and the Klipspruit Valley Road to the east

1.15. Gerard Sekoto House, Kliptown
6232 Beacon Road, Kliptown

1.16 Heroes' Acre at Avalon Cemetery
Chiawelo, Soweto

1.17. Drill Hall
Twist Street, Joubert Park

1.18. Art deco buildings situated in Delta Park
Road No 3, Victory Park

1.19. Delarey House
Cnr Third Street and Boundary Road, Roodepoort. Erf 31 Delarey

1.20. Oppenheimer Gardens (incorporating the Credo Mutwa Cultural Village and Oppenheimer Tower)
991 Majoeng Street, Western Jabavu, Soweto

1.21. Walter Sisulu House
Sisulu Street, off Khumalo North Street. Erf 7372 Orlando West

1.22. Orlando Community Hall
448 Mooki Street, Orlando East

1.23. June 16 Memorial Acre
Mphuthi Street, Central Western Jabavu, opposite Morris Isaacson High School

1.24. Old Market Buildings (now Museum Africa and Market Theatre)
Bree Street, Newtown

1.25. Electric Workshop (Now the Sci-Bono Science Centre)
Cnr President and Miriam Makeba streets, Newtown

1.26. Gandhi Square
Bounded by Rissik, Eloff, Fox and Marshall streets

1.27. Berea Fire Station
2 Mitchell Street, Berea

1.28. Fairview Fire Tower
400 Commissioner Street

1.29. Turffontein Fire Station
Cnr Turf Club Road and Hay Street, Turffontein

1.30. Marshallstown Fire Station
Cnr Kruis and Frederick streets, Marshalltown

1.31. Driefontein Farmhouse (aka Wilhelmi House)
Cnr 15th Street and Coleraine Avenue, Parkmore. Erf 666 Riverclub

1.32. Bezuidenhout Farmhouse
In Bezuidenhout Park, Dewetshof

1.33. Central Library Building
Beyers Naudé Square, bounded by Market, President, Simmonds and Sauer streets

1.34. Bantu Men's Social Centre (now part of Johannesburg traffic department)
Between Eloff Street Extension and Loveday Street Extension on the corner of Village Road

1.35. Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve
Galena Road, Horison in Roodepoort, west of Christiaan de Wet Road

1.36. Lonehill Koppie
Lonehill Koppies Nature Reserve, Lonehill

1.37. Nancefield Sewerage Farm
Pimville, Soweto. Stand 9390

1.38. Freedom Square, Alexandra (now a taxi rank)
Selbourne Street, Alexandra

1.39. Kippies Jazz Club
Miriam Makeba Street, Newtown cultural precinct

1.40. Erin Street Cottages (aka Ellis Park Triangle Cottages), New Doornfontein
Wedge bounded by Erin Street, Fitzroy Street and Bertrams Road

1.41. Walter Sisulu House
Mqampuru Street, Orlando West. Erf 7372 Orlando West

1.42 Winnastay
3 Junction Avenue, Parktown. Entrance formerly in St Andrews / Queens street. Erven 42 and 43 Parktown

1.43. Ridgeholm
Adjoins Winnastay above

1.44. Eikenlaan (aka Mike's Kitchen)
15 St Andrews Street, corner St David's Place. Stand 120, Parktown

1.45. Mai-Mai Market
Delvers Street, Marshalltown

1.46. Fordsburg Square and its Public Lavatories
Cnr Mint Road and Main Street, Fordsburg

1.47. Bezuidenhout Farmstead and Jonkershuis
Bezuidenhout Park, Bezuidenhout Valley

1.48. Mary Fitzgerald Square
Bounded by Bree, Jeppe and Henry Nxumalo streets

1.49. Kippies Jazz Club
Newtown cultural precinct

1.50. Central Public Library
Beyers Naudé Square, bounded by Market President, Simmonds and Sauer streets

1.51. Johannesburg Art Gallery
Klein Street, Joubert Park, Johannesburg

1.52. Yeoville Water Tower
Yeoville Ridge

1.53. Fairview Fire Tower
400 Commissioner Street, Fairview

2. Monuments and memorials

2.1. National Anglo-Boer War Memorial*, Saxonwold
(Formerly the Rand Regiments Memorial) Saxonwold Memorial Park, Erswold Way, Saxonwold

2.2 Bezuidenhout War Memorial
Cnr Kitchener and 9th Avenue

2.3. Scottish Horse Memorial
Caledonia Hill, Kensington

2.4. Voortrekker Memorial
Emma Park, Linden

2.5. SA Heavy Artillery Memorial (Howitzer)
Zoological Gardens, Saxonwold

2.6. South African Scottish Memorial
St Andrew's Street and Ridge Road, Parktown

2.7. War Memorial, 1914-1918
Kingston Frost Park, Brixton

2.8. War Memorial - dedicated to men of the 3rd South African Infantry killed in France, in 1916
Patterson Park, Norwood

2.9. Rand Pioneers' Memorial
Entrance to Pioneers' Park (near Wemmer Pan)

2.10. Sir Julius Jeppe Memorial
Jeppe Oval, Jeppestown

2.11. Cenotaph
Eastern portion of Beyers Naudé Square, bounded by Harrison, President, Market and Simmonds streets

2.12 Indian War Memorial
Summit of Observatory Ridge, access from Steyn Street. Stand 367, Observatory

2.13. Oudstryders' Monument
Cottesloe Ridge, overlooking the gasworks. Farm Braamfontein no. 11 , portion 215, Cottesloe

2.14. Ferreira Deep War Memorial
Cnr Booysens and Trump streets, Selby

2.15. Vuyani Mabaxa Memorial
Situated in a park between Immink Drive and Immink West, Diepkloof

2.16. War Memorial (World War I)
Brixton Cemetery, near main entrance

2.17. Randjeslaagte Beacon*
Boundary Road, Parktown, off Louis Botha Avenue

2.18 Hector Pieterson Memorial
8287 Cnr Khumalo and Pela streets, Orlando

2.19 Freedom Charter Memorial, Kliptown
Walter Sisulu Square of Dedication

2.20 Katyn Memorial
James and Ethel Gray Park, cnr Atholl Oakland Road and Melrose Street, Melrose North

3. Statues

3.1. Captain Carl von Brandis
Von Brandis Square, cnr Von Brandis and Pritchard streets

3.2. MK Gandhi
Gandhi Square, Rissik Street

3.4. George Harrison
Settlers Park, Bruma

3.5. Miners' Monument
Island at northern apex of Rissik Street, Braamfontein

4. Fountains

4.1. Coronation Fountain
Zoo Lake, Parkview

In process:

House of Dr AB Xuma in Ray Street, Sophiatown
Cnr Edward Road and Toby Street, Sophiatown. Stand 1705, Portions 1 and 2, Sophiatown

* Previously declared national monuments, now provincial heritage sites

Copyright © 2007, Rodney Jones,, Randburg, South Africa (Last updated on 28 September 2007)